The Venue is situated in Flinders Street, almost opposite the Townsville railway station and just a stone’s throw away from Castle Hill, it is one of the most iconic landmarks of North Queensland.
It was first built in 1894 by Madsen & Watson and designed by John Beauchamp Nicholson. It was later founded by Albert Lanfear and his partner Samuel Nesbitt Allen as The Lion Brewery and its first brew of Lion XXX Beer went on sale in October 1895.
The appearance of the building was praised in publications of its time, described as the "most elegant building in Townsville". Varying from rustic arches on the ground level to gothic forms on the third level, the playful use of ornament and the variation of window openings contributed to the beauty in its design and gracefulness of outline.
It then became a significant landmark during the Second World War where it was requisitioned and used by General McCarthy as a warehouse by the United States Army.
In 1998 the journey of this beautiful building took a turn towards the Townsville Night Life, re-opening with a multi-million dollar upgrade as a popular Nightclub. The Venue Townsville has since been transformed into one of Townsville’s premiere function and events centres- hosting a variety of events ranging from elegant weddings, sold-out concerts and gala dinners with some of Australia’s most loved musical icons.